Watching

Watching your movies on Apple TV:

If you want to view one of your iMovie projects on your Apple TV, you need to send it to iTunes. When you send your project to iTunes, iMovie allows you to create one or more movies of different sizes, depending on the size of the original media that’s in your project. The large size movie is best for viewing on Apple TV.

To send your project to iTunes:

  • Select it in the Project Library, and then choose Share > “Share Project with iTunes.”
  • Select one or more sizes of movie to render. If the larger sizes are not available, the original project media isn’t large enough to render in that size. The largest media size used in the project determines the final movie sizes you can render. The dots below each device in the table of sizes indicate which movie sizes are recommended for use with that device. Hovering the pointer over the “i” next to the movie dimensions displays the following information for the rendered movies:
  • H.264: The standard video compression that’s used in the movie.
  • fps: The frame rate of the movie in frames per second.
  • Kbps: The maximum rate at which the movie can be streamed over the Internet in kilobytes per second.
  • MB: The files size of the movie in megabytes.
  • Click Publish. Rendering can take up to several minutes depending on the size of your movie and if you’re rendering several sizes at once. After the project has finished rendering, iTunes opens automatically.
  • In iTunes, click Movies to see your movie and broadcast it through Apple TV.

In iMovie, an icon appears next to the project’s name in the Project Library to indicate that the project has been rendered. If you select the project in the Project Library, its title bar indicates that it’s been sent to iTunes.

If you make further edits to your project in iMovie after you’ve sent it to iTunes, the title bar indicates that your project is out of date and needs to be rendered again. Old versions of the movie are deleted and replaced by new ones when you render it again.

If you want to save the previous version of your movie before you edit it, you can do so by exporting it to the Finder.

Watching your movies on your iPod:

If you want to view one of your iMovie projects on your iPod (or download it to you iPhone), you need to send it to iTunes. When you send your project to iTunes, iMovie allows you to create one or more movies of different sizes, depending on the size of the original media that’s in your project. The medium sized movie is best for viewing on your iPod.

To send your project to iTunes:

  • Select it in the Project Library, and then choose Share > “Share Project with iTunes.”
  • Select one or more sizes of movie to render.
  • If the larger sizes are not available, the original project media isn’t large enough to render in that size. The largest media size used in the project determines the final movie sizes you can render.
  • The dots below each device in the table of sizes indicate which movie sizes are recommended for use with that device. Hovering the pointer over the “i” next to the movie dimensions displays the following information for the rendered movies.
  • H.264: The standard video compression that’s used in the movie.
  • fps: The frame rate of the movie in frames per second.
  • Kbps: The maximum rate at which the movie can be streamed over the Internet in kilobytes per second.
  • MB: The files size of the movie in megabytes.
  • Click Publish. Rendering can take up to several minutes depending on the size of your movie and if you’re rendering several sizes at once. After the project has finished rendering, iTunes opens automatically.
  • In iTunes, click Movies to see your movie and download it to your iPod or iPhone.

In iMovie, an icon appears next to the project’s name in the Project Library to indicate that the project has been rendered. If you select the project in the Project Library, its title bar indicates that it’s been sent to iTunes.

If you make further edits to your project in iMovie after you’ve sent it to iTunes, the title bar indicates that your project is out of date and needs to be rendered again. Old versions of the movie are deleted and replaced by new ones when you render it again.

If you want to save the previous version of your movie before you edit it, you can do so by exporting it to the Finder.

Watching your video on your iPhone:

There are two ways to view an iMovie project on your iPhone:

  • Send it to iTunes and download it just as you do for an iPod.
  • Publish it to your .Mac Web Gallery.

To learn how to send a movie to iTunes for downloading to your iPhone, see the instructions for watching your movie on your iPod.

Watching your movies on your iPod:

To publish to .Mac, you must have an active .Mac account. If you don’t already have a .Mac account, you can sign up for one at the .Mac website.

To publish your video to the .Mac Web Gallery and watch it on your iPhone:

  1. Select your project in the Project Library, and then choose Share > .Mac Web Gallery.
  2. In the Publish to .Mac window, fill in the fields: Page Title: The title of your movie. Description: Some information about your movie for viewers to read.
  3. Select the tiny and mobile sizes to publish. Your iPhone uses either of these sizes, depending on how you’re connected.
  4. Select “Allow movies to be downloaded” if you want viewers to be able to download copies of your movie.
  5. You can limit who can view the movie by selecting “Show project on Web Gallery home page.”
  6. Click Publish. iMovie automatically uploads your movie to your .Mac Web Gallery. After the movie has been uploaded to .Mac, the title bar of your project in iMovie displays “Published to .Mac.” It also displays buttons that take you to the movie’s webpage and send notifications to your friends and family.
  7. To find out the URL (web address) for the movies published to your .Mac Web Gallery, click Visit, and then write down the URL.
  8. Using Safari on your iPhone, navigate to the URL for your movies.

In iMovie, an icon appears next to the project’s name in the Project Library to indicate that the project has been rendered. If you select the project in the Project Library, its title bar indicates that it’s been sent to your .Mac Web Gallery.

If you make further edits to your project in iMovie after you’ve published it to .Mac, the title bar indicates that your project is out of date and needs to be rendered again. The old version of the movie is deleted and replaced by new ones when you publish it again by choosing Edit > “Republish to .Mac Web Gallery.”

If you want to save the previous version of your movie before you edit it, you can do so by exporting it to the Finder.

Watching your movies in Front Row:

If you want to view one of your iMovie projects in Front Row, you need to send it to iTunes. When you send your project to iTunes, iMovie allows you to create one or more movies of different sizes, depending on the size of the original media that’s in your project. You’ll be able to play any of these sizes in Front Row.

To send your project to iTunes:

  • Select it in the Project Library, and then choose Share > iTunes.
  • Select one or more sizes of movie to render.

If the larger sizes are not available, the original project media isn’t large enough to render in that size. The largest media size used in the project determines the final movie sizes you can render.

The dots below each device in the table of sizes indicate which movie sizes are recommended for use with that device. Hovering the pointer over the “i” next to the movie dimensions displays the following information for the rendered movies:

H.264: The standard video compression that’s used in the movie.

fps: The frame rate of the movie in frames per second.

Kbps: The maximum rate at which the movie can be streamed over the Internet in kilobytes per second.

MB: The files size of the movie in megabytes.

  • Click Publish. Rendering can take up to several minutes depending on the size of your movie and if you’re rendering several sizes at once. After the project has finished rendering, iTunes opens automatically.
  • In Front Row, select Videos, and then select Movies to find the movies you created in iMovie.

In iMovie, an icon appears next to the project’s name in the Project Library to indicate that the project has been rendered. If you select the project in the Project Library, its title bar indicates that it’s been sent to iTunes.

If you make further edits to your project in iMovie after you’ve sent it to iTunes, the title bar indicates that your project is out of date and needs to be rendered again. Old versions of the movie are deleted and replaced by new ones when you render it again.

If you want to save the previous version of your movie before you edit it, you can do so by exporting it to the Finder.